AFC Cup 2019: PSM Makassar see off Kaya FC-Iloilo to gain control

Gabriel Tan Gabriel Tan

PSM Makassar are the outright leaders in Group H of AFC Cup 2019 after recording a 2-1 win over Kaya FC-Iloilo at the Panaad Stadium on Wednesday.

With both sides level on points at the top of the group heading into the clash, it was the visitors who drew first blood after 21 minutes.

AFC Cup 2019: Kaya FC 0-1 PSM Makassar (Rizky Pellu 21′)

Having initially had his path to goal obstructed, Wiljan Pluim showed lovely to create space and patiently find an opening before bending a lovely ball for the unmarked Rizki Pellu to head home from inside the six-yard box.

Pellu heads home the opener for PSM.

Just three minutes later, PSM doubled their advantage when Eero Markkanen forced his way free down the right before squeezing his shot past Louie Casas from an acute angle.

AFC Cup 2019: Kaya FC 0-2 PSM Makassar (Eero Markkanen 24′)

The visitors did however threaten to undo their good work when they were reduced to ten men eight minutes after the restart, following a red card to Abdul Rahman Sulaiman following a second bookable offence.

And Kaya’s frustrations eventually boiled over with three minutes remaining when they received a sending-off of their own, as Jalsor Soriano was shown a straight red for violently kicking out at Marc Klok after the PSM midfielder had been felled.

There was still time for more drama as the hosts were awarded a penalty in the 90th minute for a foul by Hasyim Kipuw on Jordan Mintah inside the area but, despite a successful conversion from Jovin Bedic, it ultimately proved to be little more than a consolation.

With the win, PSM are now three points clear of Kaya at the summit, although that lead could be cut to a solitary point in the event of a Home United win over Lao Toyota later on Wednesday in Group H’s other game.

KAYA FC-ILOILO: Louie Casas, Tyler Matas, Masanari Omura, Jalsor Soriano, Shirmar Felongco (Yannick Tuason 77’), Connor Tacagni (Arnie Pasinabo Jr. 57’), Marwin Angeles (Arnel Amita 68’), Alfred Osei, Jovin Bedic, Darryl Roberts, Jordan Mintah.

PSM MAKASSAR: Rivki Mokodompit, Beny Wahyudi, Abdul Rahman Sulaiman, Munhar, Taufik Hidayat (Reva Adi Utama 86’), Marc Klok, Rizki Pellu, Muhammad Arfan (Asnawi Bahar 84’), Wiljan Pluim, Muhammad Rachmat (Hasyim Kipuw 63’), Eero Markkanen.